There are seven seats on the Executive reflecting both rural and urban representation.

The term of office is three years.  All Executive Members serve as volunteers.

The Executive is responsible for managing the affairs of AYSCBC. This involves the operation and maintenance of the organization as well as responding to member needs and issues in public education.

Our Executive Members:

  • have a genuine commitment to striving for high quality public education for all children;
  • participate in meetings, discussions and decision-making;
  • are familiar with the Constitution, Bylaws and all policies governing the Association;
  • abide by the Code of Conduct and the Conflict of Interest guidelines;
  • carry out all responsibilities in good faith and in the best interests of the Association.

Executive Members for the 2016-2019 Term of Office

Ted Baker, Acting Chair (Faro)
Email: ted.baker@ayscbc.org

Ted served on the Del Van Gorder School Council from 1998-2000 and took up the post again in 2002, continuing to serve through this current 2016-2018 term. Ted served on the AYSCBC Executive from 2007-2011 and has continued in that role since 2013.

Chris Bookless, Secretary/Treasurer (Whitehorse)
Email: chris.bookless@ayscbc.org

Chris was a member of the Yukon Francophone School Board/Commission scolaire francophone du Yukon for 6 years from 1998 until 2004 and was one of the founding members of AYSCBC. He has been a member of the Executive since 2000.

Sandra Henderson (Whitehorse)
Email: sandra.henderson@ayscbc.org

Sandra is in her 7th year as a member of the FH Collins Secondary School Council in Whitehorse, serving in that role for 2004 to 2006, then from 2008 on, including the current 2016-2018 term. She has been a Member of the Executive since April 2010.

Sheri Graham (Whitehorse)
Email: sheri.graham@ayscbc.org

Sheri brings six years previous experience working on Parent Advisory Committees, District Parent Advisory Committees and the British Columbia Coalition of Parent Advisory Committees. In addition to serving on the AYSCBC Executive, Sheri is also a member of the Jack Hulland Elementary School Council. She is a firm believer that parent involvement and engagement will always be at the core of student success.

Lindsay Heynen (Whitehorse)
Email: lindsay.heynen@ayscbc.org

Lindsay is a born and raised Yukoner who owns and operates a small hobby farm with her husband and three children. She has served on the Hidden Valley School Council since her eldest child first started school in 2011. She has served as School Council Chair for the past four years and joined the Association of Yukon School Councils, Boards and Committees earlier this year.

EXECUTIVE MEMBERS Terms of Reference

AYSCBC Constitution & Bylaws 

AYSCBC Code of Conduct 

AYSCBC Conflict of Interest Policy  

Other policies can be found here.


We Need Your Help

How do you like our website? Did you find what you were looking for? We'd like to get your feedback. Send Us Your Comments